The issue of ex-gay ministries and therapy has been in the news a good bit recently. The legislature in CA has passed a bill banning sexual orientation change efforts in therapy for minors, and it is just waiting for the governor’s signature. Alan Chambers, the President of Exodus International, the largest ex-gay organization in world, said earlier this year, “The majority of people that I have met, and I would say the majority meaning 99.9% of them have not experienced a change in their orientation.” Also under his direction, Exodus International, has repudiated the use of reparative therapy (sexual orientation change efforts), and altered a lot of their rhetoric. In effect, they now primarily promote celibacy for LGB people.

In reading more about this, I recently came across the work of Ted Cox, a straight atheists who spent over a year undercover in different ex-gay ministries. He’s published part of his experiences, specifically a story of his time at an ex-gay weekend retreat, online, and I wanted to share that. The story, which is about 20 pages long, can be found here: My Journey Into Manhood. The story almost seems surreal at times, and I might be hesitant to believe it if I hadn’t heard many similar stories from other LGBTQ people that I know that spent years in different ex-gay ministries, often times in even more extreme circumstances.

