Not Just Homosexual, But Homoromantic Too!

I was reading some of the blog posts over on Waking Up Now the other day, and came across this gem: “I’m Not Just Homosexual — I’m Homoromantic,” which is basically just the post with the title, one little line, and this video: (nothing explicit, but it does having kissing in it)

I really liked the sentiment expressed in the post. Especially among conservative anti-LGBTQ people there is a huge emphasis on “gay sex,” and often a complete ignoring of what it means to be gay. (The other thing is that there is typically a huge focus on gays and gay sex, but an ignoring of bisexuals and lesbians.) This of course plays into a lot of the stereotypes that conservatives have about LGBTQ people–many of which I once had as well. There is so much misinformation and ignorance in conservative and Christian circles about queer people and what being queer entails. It’s honestly quite overwhelming. I was not raised in a fundamentalist family, but it still took me several years to unlearn all the false ideas I had picked up over the years and replace my ignorance with knowledge and understanding.

Queers are often seen and portrayed as the frightful and evil “other,” rather than as people who are fully human. It’s a common human trait to vilify and fear what is considered “other,” especially when that other is a minority. I think this is one of the reasons that one of the best ways to bring about change in people is for them to get to know actual LGBTQ people. When someone has a human face to associate with their idea of queerness, it is no longer so easy to view us as other and vilify us.

(This is one of the ultimate reasons for the creation of this blog: to put a human face to LGBTQ people at Patrick Henry College. Of course, at the moment we are anonymous faces, but we do have faces and look forward to the day we no longer need to conceal them.)

I think I got a bit off topic there, but my point is that we are just the same as other people. We aren’t sex obsessed maniacs. We fall in love just as straight people do. We mourn the loss of beloved ones just as straight people do. We desire intimacy and tender moments just as straight people do. Many of us want families just like many straight people do. And yes, we do want sex, but then last I checked so do straight people. (You may find the idea of being with someone of the same-sex to be icky, but I find the idea of being with someone of the opposite-sex to be icky, so I can sympathize. Just do what I do, and don’t think about it too much if it bothers you.)

Romance and the love that it expresses is a beautiful thing. (And yes, I find straight romance to be sweet, even if I’m not interested in it.) So here’s to hoping we all get more love and romance in our lives, and of course, that we get “kisses for Christmas.”

I have to add one more video. This one is a truly beautiful portrayal of the romance and love of a developing relationship:

4 thoughts on “Not Just Homosexual, But Homoromantic Too!

  1. Pingback: Not Just Homosexual, But Homoromantic Two! | queerphc

  2. Pingback: Invisible Parents | queerphc

  3. Pingback: Not Just Homosexual, But Homoromantic Three! | queerphc

Add to the conversation . . .

